New Student Questions
How do I obtain a license to practice real estate?
It’s as easy as one – two – three!
- State law requires you to complete an approved 60 hour first year sales course, designed to prepare you for the licensing exam, as well as 30 hours of advanced real estate principles.
- After completing the first year sales course (initial 60 hours), you may send in your application and certificate of completion to the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. They will send you confirmation of your approval; once you receive their correspondence, you may contact PSI (the exam provider) to schedule your exam.
- Take and pass the state exam, either immediately following passing the initial 60 hour course or you can wait until you also finish the 30 hours of advanced real estate principles. You will receive a permanent sales license that’s good for a two year period. Congratulations! You’re a real estate agent! (You may take the state exam after the first 60 hours, but you won't receive your license until you have also completed the final 30 hours.)
A criminal background check is now required for all initial
applicants, from a source approved by the South Carolina Real Estate
pursuant to SC Code Section 40-57-115. The law currently reads as follows:
SC Code 40-57-115. Criminal background checks required for initial applicants.
addition to other requirements established by law and for the purpose
of determining an applicant's eligibility for licensure as a salesman,
broker, broker-in-charge, property manager, and property
manager-in-charge, the commission shall require initial applicants to
submit to a state criminal records check, by a source approved by the
commission, and a national criminal records check. Costs of conducting a
criminal records check must be borne by the applicant. The commission
shall keep information received pursuant to this section confidential,
except that information relied upon in denying licensure my be disclosed
as necessary to support the administrative action.
Instructions on obtaining a criminal records check for licensure:
- Use the link www.srandi.com and select MY BACKGROUND CHECK.
- Select the Affiliate Tab.
- Enter the Affiliate code: R52SG9
- Review the Real Estate Commission’s requirements as listed on the screen.
- Enter the required information to conduct your background check.
- Enter your address history, including current and former addresses.
- Enter your driver’s license information.
- Read and e-sign your release form.
- Submit your payment information. SR&I will take Visa and Mastercard payments.
- The cost starts at $40 for South Carolina residents, but can go up in price depending on a variety of factors.
- Review your payment and create an account. Print the Release form for your own copy. Create a log-in to obtain a copy of your background check once completed by SR&I.
- Results will be available after about 72 hours. Once your report is ready, go to www.srandi.com and select MY BACKGROUND CHECK. Use the Log In field to get a copy of your report.
The Real Estate Commission now requires you to submit a completed background check from
this one place, SR&I. They won't accept a background check from anywhere else.
YOU CANNOT APPLY FOR YOUR LICENSE EXAMINATION UNTIL YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE BACKGROUND CHECK. IT MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH YOUR APPLICATION, ALONG WITH YOUR CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION FROM YOUR REAL ESTATE, BROKER OR PROPERTY MANAGEMENT CLASS.
How much does the state exam cost?
The exam fee is $63.00. There are various sites for PSI (the exam provider) throughout the state. Current locations include:
- Columbia (121 Executive Center Dr. Suite 247);
- Charleston/North Charleston (4600 Goer Dr. Suite 112 A);
- Beaufort/Hilton Head (69 Robert Smalls Parkway, SC-170, Unit 4 D);
- Myrtle Beach (1601 North Oak Street, Suite 305);
- Charlotte, NC (1300 Baxter Street, Suite 175).
You may contact PSI directly to schedule your state licensing exam by visiting www.psiexams.com or by calling 1-800-733-9267 once you have received your letter of confirmation from the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.
When and where are the classes scheduled?
Classes are held at our Columbia and Charleston locations for most courses. Continuing education courses are held statewide. We offer full day, half day, evening and weekends courses - the schedule varies by location. Please check the course schedule for the location most convenient for you. Unless otherwise specified, courses listed on this site are held at our Columbia location. For prelicensing courses at our Charleston location, visit the Real Estate School of South Carolina at Charleston's website at www.realestateschoolofcharleston.net.
In order to obtain my license, do I need a broker or real estate company to sponsor me?
It is not necessary to have a broker/company sponsor you in order to take classes or the exam. However, to be licensed, it is mandatory to be affiliated with a broker/real estate company. This affiliation may be accomplished by submitting the proper form after successful completion of the exam.
Why should I choose The Real Estate School of South Carolina?
We are one of the oldest and most successful independent providers of real estate education in South Carolina. Even our competitors have trained with us! Your success is vitally important to us. As an independent, proprietary school, we are dedicated to providing the finest courses exclusively for South Carolina real estate professionals and new licensees. Learn from the most experienced and highly respected real estate and appraisal instructors in South Carolina - only at the original Real Estate School! We have helped thousands of students learn how to be successful in the real estate industry. Let us teach YOU!
Classroom Policies and Procedures
South Carolina law requires attendance of the entire course, no exceptions, in order to receive credit for the course. Should the student miss class days, they will be required to attend make-up sessions in order to receive their certificate(s) of completion. Students should discuss their make-up time options with their instructor if needed.
Tuition, Deposit, and Cancellation
Seating is limited, therefore, RES requires a $50 deposit prior to the first class to ensure applicant a seat. Continuing education courses must be paid in full before the course begins. Deposit is nonrefundable but may be applied to future courses for up to six months. RES reserves the right to cancel if a minimum of five students have not registered 24 hours prior to the start of the course. Should the course be canceled or postponed for more than four weeks, the student is entitled to a full refund of tuition.
Refund Policy is as follows: No refund will be given for "no shows" or after a student attends any portion of the course. At no time will tuition transfer from one student to another after a course has started. Students may attend the same unit in future courses at no cost for up to six months (auditing). Refunds will be given to any student who cancels his/her reservation at least 24 hours in advance unless one of the other no refund conditions applies, or if class is cancelled. If student attends any portion of a class and then cancels, NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN. If you sign up and pay for a course and need to move to a later date, your payment will be valid for up to SIX MONTHS after the original course date (this rule includes the Career Start Package). If you fail to attend the class within six months of your original course date, you will lose the payment and will be required to begin registration all over again. Once a student registers for the Career Start Package, no refunds will be given on portions of the career package. A student may cancel the entire career start package before taking any portion of class; however, once a student has attended any portion of the career start package or received an item from the package (i.e. study aid or attended any portion of any class), NO REFUNDS WILL BE GIVEN.
Upon successful completion of the course, students will receive ONE certificate of completion. It is the responsibility of the student to maintain his/her own records. The Real Estate School of South Carolina is responsible for reporting continuing education hours. Continuing education students are responsible for renewing their license with the state's commission. Duplicate certificates are issued at a nominal charge of $25.
Each student is allowed 5 attempts at the final exam (with exams #1-#5). Exam attempts #4 and #5 are offered at a retake fee of $25 each. If the Student has not passed after the fifth attempt (passing means both state and national portions), the Student may audit the program. If the Student retakes the class as an audit or paid student, the exam attempts are reset back to the original policy of three attempts at no charge. Testing is offered by appointment only, Monday through Thursday, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. Students must call the school at 803-791-3800 to set up a retest.
Students are able to audit the program once for up to one year from their original start date. Unit I students may audit the program for free up to six months from their original class start date. Any audit after six months up to one year is offered for $60. Property Management, Broker, Home Inspection, and Home Building students are able to audit the program once for up to one year from their original start date for an audit fee of $60. In order to register for an audit, the student must call the school to submit the necessary information.
What are the Continuing Education requirements and whom do I contact with questions?
All South Carolina appraisal licensees must complete 14 hours of continuing education every year, prior to June 30th.
All South Carolina real estate licensees must complete 10 hours of continuing education once every two years, prior to midnight on June 30th. Of the ten hours, at least four hours must be in a core course. (Our courses have a South Carolina Real Estate Commission course approval number that can tell you if a class is a core or an elective. There is now only one course that offers core credit. A new core course is announced every two years.) For BICs, the requirement is the core course plus a four-hour BIC-specific course plus two elective hours. Sales and regular broker licensees must take four core and six elective hours.
For more information on continuing education requirements and to renew your license go to www.llr.state.sc.us.
Online Course Policies:
What is required to complete an online real estate or appraisal continuing education course?
Students must successfully complete all modules of an online course.
Our courses do not require any additional books or study material.
Can I print any of the course material for future reference?
No. The course is entirely online, so you are unable to print any course materials.
How long will it take me to complete a course?
Each course has been approved for a specific number of credit hours. Depending on the pace you review the course, it may take you less or more time to complete the course, unless it is a "seat timed" course, in which case a two hour course will take exactly two hours to complete.
How long do I have access to the course?
You have access to the course for up to six months from the date of purchase.
How do I receive my course completion certificate and how do my hours get submitted for CE credit?
For courses taken from the Fast Class portal, after satisfactorily completing your online course, you are given the opportunity to print your course completion certificate directly from your own printer. If you are unable to print your certificate, please notify us by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by telephone at (803) 791-3800 and we will be happy to mail a certificate to your home address. For courses taken through the LeapOnline or RECampus portal, a certificate of completion will be emailed to your email address once you complete the course.
Can I take the course from various locations and computers?
The courses are set up for students to access from any computer that is compatible with the requirements below. We recommend using a faster system and a fast internet connection. Here are the requirements:
- PC or Mac
- Sound Card with speakers or headphones
- Video Capabilities
- Microsoft Windows 10 or Mac OS X 10.10 or later
- Internet connection (high speed connection)
- Microsoft Internet Explorer version 8.0 or greater – or Firefox browser for the Mac
- Adobe Flash Player
What happens once I register for the course?
You will receive an email confirmation for your records. You may then begin the course immediately.
How do I get a username and password? What do I use it for?
During the registration process, you select your own username and password. It should be something that you can easily remember. You will use the same username and password each time you log in to access your course(s). If you forget your username and password, you can either email email@example.com or call 1-803-791-3800.
What is your refund policy?
Refunds are available prior to beginning work in the course.
What do I do if I have technical issues?
Call us, we're happy to help! (803) 791-3800 – Monday through Friday 8:00 AM. to 6:00 PM EST.
How does the course work?
You can take the course at your own pace and on your own time; however, in South Carolina, you must complete the course within a five day time period from the date that you actually begin working in the course. You can take the course in small increments or all at once. If you exit out of the course, then log back in at a later time, you start back in the lesson that you had been taking.
ONLINE PRE-LICENSE POLICIES:
Schedule (day/time of week class meets)
scheduling is continuous in nature (24/7/365). Students are able to enroll and
complete the course at times most convenient for them.
of completion for the course is awarded upon successful completion of the program
pending the following requirements are met:
the coursework according to the terms and conditions
a minimum 70% on the proctored final examination
all financial obligations to the school
is delivered through a proprietary Learning Management System (LMS). The LMS is
accessible online through common internet browsers for both PCs and MACs
(Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer, and Safari). Additionally, courses are
compatible with iPad and Android tablets. An internet connection is required
(high speed is recommended but not required).
course price is the cost of the course, as published on school’s website at the
time of purchase. The Real Estate School of SC reserves the right to adjust the
course cost at any time before purchase. This online course is not eligible to
be submitted to the VA for student tuition reimbursement.
and Cancellation Policy
policy is as follows: No refund will be given after Student begins any portion
of the course. At no time will tuition transfer from one student to another
after a course has been started. Refunds will be given to any student who
cancels their reservation before beginning the course for up to six months
after the date of purchase unless one of the other ‘no refund’ conditions
applies. Refunds may be given to a military student who is called to active
duty and is no longer available to complete coursework, even if the student has
begun the course as long as proof of orders is provided. If Student starts any
portion of a class and then cancels, NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN. Once a student
registers for the Career Start Package, no refunds will be given on any portion
of the career package. A student may cancel the entire Career Start Package
before taking any portion of the class; however, once Student has begun ANY
PORTION of the Career Start Package, NO REFUNDS WILL BE GIVEN. Partial credit
is not given for any course.
Date of Course
Real Estate School of SC’s pre-licensing course(s) will expire 6 months after
the date of purchase. The student will be granted one 30 day extension at no
charge, said one month free extension to be applied immediately after the
initial 6 month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the
th month, the Real Estate School of SC will charge the student 20% of the purchase price
for extensions from months seven through twelve. Extensions or reactivations cannot
be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events,
the course terminates 12 months after purchase.
the course is not completed within 12 months of the date of purchase or other period
the student will be required to purchase a new course at full current retail
price of the new course and fully complete the new course, including the final
exam, if the student wants credit for the new course.
and Certificates of Completion
Upon successful completion of the course, students will receive ONE
certificate of completion. It is the responsibility of the Student to maintain
their own records. Duplicate certificates are issued at a nominal charge of
Each student is allowed 3 attempts at the final exam
(with exams #1 - #3). If the Student has not passed after the third attempt (passing means
both state and national portions), the student must retake the class and pay
the full tuition. All exam attempts must be completed within twelve months from
the course beginning date. Proctored exams are given in person under the
supervision of a licensed instructor.
Placement and Assistance
Real Estate School of SC does not assist students with job placement and does
not guarantee job placement or salary amounts upon completion of this program.
have read the requirements and policies stated in the terms and conditions for
grading, attendance, conduct, leave of absence, withdrawal, and course
completion. I have read and agree to this Enrollment Agreement. As a condition
of acceptance, I agree to adhere to and abide by these requirements and
policies with the knowledge that the Real Estate School of SC has the right to
withdraw me from the program if I do not meet course requirements, standards of
academic progress, or abide by the student conduct policy.
understand that that a criminal history may make me ineligible for the license
I am seeking and that I can request a criminal history evaluation from the
is advised to print and keep copies of A) this Enrollment Agreement and B) the
financial terms and conditions of purchasing this course.
acceptance of the terms and conditions of this agreement is electronic by: A)
student checking the box next to the "Check this box to accept our terms
and conditions" and B) clicking "Submit Order" on the course
check out page.
Real Estate School of SC is considered to have signed this Enrollment Agreement
upon the student’s acceptance of the terms and conditions of this agreement.
contract may only be changed with the written consent of both the Student and
an authorized school official.